Part 2: 1960-1969
by Jean-Claude Berger and Pierre Dousson)
Opened in 1941 and restarted in 1952 by Edison Dick and Ray Castro
The famous French chef Henri Charpentier was the first chef de cuisine in 1941-42. In the early sixties the chef was an Italian, Pat Nutti, who also worked at the famous Chez Paree, a night-club and supper club that was not French at all. Café de Paris famous signature dish was the ‘’duckling à la Belasco’’.
JAQUES FRENCH RESTAURANT at 900 N. Michigan Avenue . Opened in 1935 at this address. But started at 180
LA MAISONETTE 3445 Dempster in
It never really started its operations before the group was sold to ITT but was about to be launched in 1969. It was reopened in 1973 by Edison Dick and Henri Glattard.
Like Le Mignon it seems that it was not included in the sale of the group to ITT since it was still managed by Ray Castro in late 1970.
“urban de luxe” fancy restaurant, complete with drapes, candelabras, golden mirrors, wood trimmings, crystal glasses, elegant silver and tableware, etc.
- Restaurants that were actually owned and/or managed by French people, and where the kitchen was operated by French chefs and cooks.
- Restaurants that sometimes served decent “French” food but were not owned or managed by French people. A few employed French chefs and cooks though .
All the chefs and head waiters had been trained in Paris and were brought in, along with Monsieur Bompart, by Vaudable with the local help of Nancy Goldberg.
Some of the notable chefs, cooks, and maitres D', who worked in that famous kitchen were Pierre Monet, Michel Grobon, Gérard Humilier, Christian Gaborit, Jean-Paul Weber, and Pierre Orsi.
Orsi who was only 29 at the time, worked there from 1967 to 1969, when he decided to return to his native Lyon to take over the famous eponymous restaurant. But he marked during his short tenure at Maxim's with an innovation: a spectacular buffet-lunch that included fancy hors-d'oeuvre, hot dishes served at the table from rolling carts, and desserts, for $ 5.00.
Later on in 1970 Bernard Cretier started as sous-chef and stayed as executive chef until the late 1970s when he opened his own restaurant, Le Vichyssois, in Lakemoor.
Michel Maloiseau also worked as chef there for 3 years in the late 70s.
Badonski hired a young French cuisinier named Jean Joho who was working under Paul Haeberlin at the Auberge de l'Ill in Alsace.
But eventually, everything went wrong for various reasons, legal, financial, and conflicting personalities and interests. And the "New Maxim's" did not last very long.
This small but charming and elegant place that could seat only 44 guests at a time was launched by René Martin, who waited on tables at Jacques for 8 years and was himself the son of a restaurateur in
The chef was Gérard Pin and the sous-chef, was Bernard Lecoq, who 7 years later would open his own restaurant, Café Bernard, that still exists in 2010. Both men, friends of Martin, came from
Opened for lunch and dinner, regular customers loved the relaxed bistro atmosphere and the poached turbot with hollandaise sauce.
It was launched on June 1, 1967 by Pierre Dousson, a former chef at Maxim’s and now the chef here and his partner Jean-Claude Berger, an alumnus of the Royal Hunt at the Ambassador East hotel, who as Maitre d’ was in charge of the dining room. The launching of this charming and elegant restaurant benefited from the financial and managerial backing of Norman Kaplan and George Weingart. Seating was limited to 80 customers but the restaurant was open for lunch and dinner .
Gérard Humilier was also a chef there.
It became BIGG’S where Jovan worked for a year as Maitre D’. But he had difficulties to adjust to Castro’s concept of what a successful restaurant should be.
Once again, the “nomad” that he always was hit the road.
In other words the menu was composed every day based on the best products he could find at the market.
The owner Alan Tutzer was not a chef but had a precise idea of what he wanted: a traditional unpretentious French restaurant offering typical dishes representative of “cuisine bourgeoise” that you would find in typical restaurants of the “province”.
This restaurant, located in a basement of that building half a block west of busy State Street, was at the time the only French restaurant in the
It was launched by 2 French alumni of La Chaumière and La Cheminée, Yvan Wiedmer and Jean-Paul Vassas and by a former chef of Chez Paul, André Bucher.
The very rustic décor, red brick walls, waxed hardwood parquet floor, along with its old pieces of furniture created a warm atmosphere similar to what you would find in an old French country inn. People loved it from the start.
Launched in the fall of 1960 by Dominick Trolli, an Italian chef who previously worked at Maison Lafite.
Founded in November 1961 by Howard and Anne Drake.
CHATEAU CHANTAL, at 72 East Oak.
Created and managed by JOHN SNOWDEN, one of the most talented and demanding professional chef in
John Snowden, who had a solid cooking training in France, had been the chef and partner at Le Provençal in Hyde Park in the early 50`s.
Eventually he became one of the foremost French cooking instructor in the
That nicely appointed eatery was essentially an upscale seafood restaurant, whose chef, Frenchman Pierre Poubelle, an alumnus from the famous French seafood restaurant Prunier in
Located in an old brownstone this charming place was started in November of 1969 by Bill Contos, the owner of Chez Paul as a café specializing in stuffed crepes, quiche, onion soup and salads.
But when Jean Banchet who had come in 1968 from
Unfortunately I was not able to find any precise info about that place.